Mother’s Unconditional Love

To My dear sons and daughter,

On the day when you see me old, weak and weary …..

Have patience and do try to understand me …..

If I get dirty while eating, if I cannot dress on my own …..

Please bear with me and remember the times I spent feeding and dressing you up,

If, when I speak to you, I repeat the same things over and over again, do not interrupt, listen to me,

When you were small I had to read to you a thousand times until you went to sleep,

When I do not want to have shower, neither shame nor scold me,

Remember when I had to chase you with your thousand excuses to get you to the shower?

When you see my ignorance of new technologies help me navigate through these worldwide webs,

I taught you how to do so many things, to dress appropriately, to fight for your rights,

When at some moments I loose the memory or thread of our conversation …..

Let me have the necessary time to remember, and if I cannot, do not become nervous,

As the most important thing is not our conversation ….

but simply to be with you and to have you listening to me,

If ever I do not feel like eating, do not force me,

I know well when I need to, and when not to,

When my tired legs give way and do not allow me to walk without a cane,

Lend me your helping hand, the same I did when you tried your first faltering steps,

And when someday I say to you that I don’t want to live anymore, that I want to go to heaven,

Do not get angry for one day you will understand,

Try to appreciate that our age is not just lived, but survived …..

Someday you will realize that despite my mistakes, I always want the best for you,

And I tried to prepare the way for you ……….

You must not feel sad, angry nor ashamed having me near you,

Instead, try to understand me and help me like I did when you were younger,

Help me to walk, help me to live the rest of my life with love and dignity,

I will pay you with a smile,

And by the immense love I have ……  Always had for you in my heart …….

Mama love you all ………

old-parents

2 Responses

  1. This puts into words exactly how a mother feels when their children know everything, once they turn teenagers! What a universal bond mothers share. Thank you for this poem.

  2. well nice and motivated poem for all youngster how is far away from parents might be now they can release and love to their old parents and share them their experience means what is the real life because our parents know the life better then us
    Again my salute to the writer how can have such kind a feeling for parents
    Regards

Leave a Reply

