7 Wonders of Life

Off late we read, see and hear of many traumatic cases of abuse, murder and mishaps from the media.  When someone so precious is lost in such a senseless way, it makes me grateful that I am alive, for there is certainly nothing very precious about me. And then I realize, briefly, all too briefly, that I seldom take the time to be thankful for my life. I suspect I am not alone, and that too many of us just take life for granted.

It often seems that we can neither stand the thought of God acting often (since that would infringe our freedom), nor the thought of him acting rarely (since that makes him responsible for our suffering).

Regardless, you certainly don’t have to be religious to be grateful. I admire people who have a commendable attitude of gratefulness, and I wish I could be that way. As I write this, I am grateful for life and for the many, many blessings I have. But, I know me … it will not be long before I am taking things for granted again.

In summary, I believe the very very basic Seven Wonders of Life should be dictated as :-

  1. To be able to SEE
  2. To be able to HEAR
  3. To be able to TOUCH
  4. To be able to TASTE
  5. To be able to FEEL
  6. To be able to LAUGH
  7. To be able to LOVE

I came across this beautiful prayer posted by Satya Mehta which I’m pretty sure some of you may have been aware of :-

I asked God to take away my habit.
  God said, No.
  It is not for me to take away, but for you to give it up.

I asked God to make my handicapped child whole.
  God said, No.
   His spirit is whole, his body is only temporary.

I asked God to grant me patience.
  God said, No.
  Patience is a byproduct of tribulations;
  it isn’t granted, it is learned.

I asked God to give me happiness.
  God said, No.
  I give you blessings; Happiness is up to you.

I asked God to spare me pain.
  God said, No.
  Suffering draws you apart from worldly cares
  and brings you closer to me.

I asked God to make my spirit grow.
  God said, No.
  You must grow on your own! ,
  but I will prune you to make you fruitful.

I asked God for all things that I might  enjoy life.
  God said, No.

  I will give you life, so that you may enjoy all things.

I even notice the word ‘impossible’ dictates as I’M POSSIBLE

2 Responses

  1. “I am grateful for life and for the many, many blessings I have. But, I know me … it will not be long before I am taking things for granted again.”

    samalah kita auntie..huhuh

  2. hello si Temi … sila lah calling calling auntie. Lets hv lunch ke tau? Nak gak tengok keadaan tangan yg ber-bandage tu hehehe

Leave a Reply

