BALANCING

Life is a juggling act. Work, home, the family, the errands … We all sometimes feel like hamsters on their wheels. And this year, lucky me, I got an extra day to run, run, run (and leap). I don’t know how I could continue at that pace; I honestly didn’t think I could though I think it was manageable so far.  Wouldn’t it be great if I could just swallow a pill and make it all better? Sorry, haven’t got one. But let’s see if I can come up with a tasty, healthy, and well-proportioned recipe to help get started on finding some of that elusive balance back into my life.

“Cookery is not chemistry. It is an art. It requires instinct and taste rather than exact measurements.”

When I am following a recipe, this is the point — putting it all together — where I stray.

What I’m trying to say is that we need to pick and choose which cooking directions — and even ingredients — will suit my particular palate and needs for the banquet that is life.  I feel honor-bound to tell you, at the close of this column, that I am by no means an expert in the art of work-life balance. I’ve been trying to improve, and will continue doing so. 

But honestly, nerdies like me need to look straight in the mirror and figure out what’s working and what isn’t.

  • Preheat oven to 98.6 degrees. Any hotter and this won’t work. Flaring tempers just burn it.
  • Mix all the ingredients well and consider their particular qualities before adding them to the mix.
  • Change recipe at own discretion. People are like snowflakes: no one is exactly the same.
  • Bake until consistency feels right. Be sure to taste before serving.

4 Responses

  1. I don’t think you’re nerd, aunty. From my observation, you’re a little bit detail person. Just like me. However, you’re different from me in some extent – like; you know yourself better than I know myself.

  2. Aaaaawwww PokDeng dear, thanks I take that as a compliment. At 46 if I still fail to grasp hold of myself, then it is not worth being a khalifah enjoying Allah’s blessings. Actually life’s adversities taught me a whole lot of things unknown to many except only among close acquaintances …. apa pun, setiap musibah ada hikmah tersembunyi. Just be yourself, continue to hv faith in Allah, insha’allah you will find peace in yourself most importantly. Motherly hugz🙂

  3. Assalam a mossavi,
    we all have our hectic days. since me and wifey fired our maid, our days are becoming increasingly busy try to juggle the daily errands, looking after the schooling kids and at the same time managing our careers. but eventually we learn to prioritize, having more quality (private) time together, and still not lagging behind our daily work schedule. to me, it’s all about cooperation and tolerance.

    as the eldest among my siblings, my childhood hours include me helping my dear mom preparing our delicious daily meals. One tip she gave me that i obediently follow until now is “have your ingredients in odd number”. she never revealed the secret behind this but as my wife applied the same rule even to our simplest dishes, it always matched up to my mom’s cooking.🙂

  4. Mualaikumsalam Gumbleed, I truly understand what you went thru’ as I am also the eldest of 6, and had to do housechores including taking care of my siblings at an age where kids nowadays are pampered with all the heavenly goodness of a materialistic world …. I was born and holiday-camped-raised in a kampong environment. The only holiday trips I had were to arwah Tokki’s kebun buah (mind you with sounds of tiger’s roar and snorts of the babi hutan etc. Helped Tokki feed the fishes he reared kat kolam sampai masa solat, tak perasan pun ada lintah kenyang buncit perut kat kaki aunty hehehe and I was only 8 yrs old then🙂

Leave a Reply

