A Parent’s Prayer

Kids are only little once,
Please grant me the wisdom to guide them,
For I know they can never turn back and walk those paths with me again,
Give me the wisdom to guide them so they’ll be able to walk alone when I’m gone.

Kids are only little once,
Give me the time I need to spend with them,
For I know that when they are grown, I’ll perhaps not have another chance,
To tell stories, play scrabble or carrom,
To watch them in a school play, or score their first goal,
Give me time amidst my life’s busy schedule,
To enjoy and have fun with all the kids in the world.

Kids are only little once,
Let me be a loving parent,
Let me correct, not just punish, nag nor merely scold,
Let me have the strength and patience,
The gentle touch to mould them into better adults.

They are only little once,
Let me be a good leader and more, a better example,
Give me the right words and deeds to teach them,
To teach them about you Allah, and how to walk YOUR path,
So that when they’re old they will not depart their faith from YOU,

They are only little once,
Only innocent and trusting and pliable for a space of time,
One minute in an eternity,
PLEASE let me do my best for them while I have the chance.
AMIN!

(Author Unknown)

posted with love to all children by

Leave a Reply

