MAKING MEMORIES

After having breakfast, my little girl says “Mommy, will you watch this show with me?” I looked at the breakfast dishes in the sink and then at her big brown eyes. “Okay” I said, and we snuggled each other on the couch and watched her favourite show.

After the show we put together a puzzle, then I head for the kitchen to wash the dirty dishes when the phone rang. “Hi, what have you been doing?” says my friend.

“Well, I was watching my little one’s favourite show with her and later we put together a puzzle.”

“Oh” she said “You dont sound very busy today then.”

But I thought to myself “No, I was indeed busy making memories.

After lunch, my little girls says “Mommy please play a game with me. At this instance I am now staring at the breakfast & lunch dishes piling up in the kitchen sink. Again, I looked at those big brown eyes and remembered how special it felt when my mom played games with me when I was little.

“Sounds like fun,” I answered “but just one game okay?”. We played her favourite game, and I could tell she was very delighted.

When the game ended, she said “Mommy please read me a story.” I replied “Okay, but just one.”

After reading her favourite story, I hurried to the kitchen to clear the piling dirty dishes. While fixing supper, my little girl came eagerly and willingly to the kitchen to help me with my tasks. Here I am running behind time, and wishing she would go watch her favourite show or play with her toys. But her eagerness to learn and help her mommy do things in the kitchen, melts my heart away. “Okay you can help darling.” I said, though I know it will take twice as long.

Supper was ready, and as my husband arrived from work he asked “What did you do today?”

“Lets see, we watched her favourite show, played a game and read a book. I did the dishes and vacuumed, and my little girl helped prepare supper.”

“Great” he said, “I’m glad you didnt have a busy day today.”

But I was busy” I think to myself. “Busy making memories.”

After supper, my little said “Lets bake cookies mommy.” And I responded “Okay lets bake cookies.” The aroma of the warm baked cookies consumed the house. We gathered around the table eating cookies, drinking milk, talking & making memories. Soon as I have finished washing supper’s dirty dishes, my little sweetie tugged my shirt and asked “Mommy mommy could we take a walk?”

“Okay, lets take a walk” I said. While walking with her, my mind was focussed on the the undone laundry and dust encompassing our home. But the warmth of her hand and sweetness of our conversation stole my undivided attention.

When we got home, my husband asked “Where have you been?”

“We’ve been making memories'” I replied.

While doing the laundry, I got my little girl all bathed and in her nightie, she began to look tired. “Mommy lets fix each other’s hair” she said.

God I’m so tired!” my mind was saying but on the contrary my mouth was replying “Okay lets brush each other’s hair.” With that task complete, she excitedly requests “Lets paint each other’s nails mommy please!”. So she painted my toenails while I did her fingernails, and we read a book while waiting for our nails to dry.

While we were saying our prayers, my husband peeped through the door and asked “What are my two lovely girls doing now?”

“Making memories” I answered. Just then, my little girl asked “Mommy will you lay with me until I fall asleep?”

“Yes” and my mind thinking “I hope she falls asleep quickly coz I still have so much chores to do.”

Simultaneously, two precious little arms encircled my neck as she whispers “Mommy, nobody but God loves you as much as I do” ….. and I felt the tears roll down my cheeks. “Thank you God” I murmurred, for he had given me another day making memories.

Story narrated from my favourite collection of Chicken Soup for the Soul books

– pictures compiled by Dib Mossavi

One Response

  1. {This is|This really is|It is|It’s|This is exactly} my {first time|very first time that|very first time|first-time} i {visit|see|take a look at|have a look at} this {website|web site|internet site|blog|web-site}. {I found|I discovered|I came across|I ran across|I uncovered|I recently found|I recently came across|I recently uncovered} {so many|a lot of|numerous|countless|a great number of|lots of|many|plenty of|a variety of|a great many|a wide number of|a large number of|such large numbers of|several|quite a few} {interesting|fascinating|exciting|useful|helpful|important|attractive|beneficial|remarkable} {stuff|things|material|information} {in your|inside your|in your own} {blog|weblog|website|web log|web site} {especially|specifically|primarily|notably|most definitely} this {discussion|blog page|web page}. {From the|Among the} {tons of|a lot of|numerous|plenty of|so many|bunches of|many|a ton of|various|lots of} {comments|responses} on your {articles|writings}, {I guess|I suppose|I assume} {I am|I’m} not the only one {having|getting|experiencing} {all the|all of the} {enjoyment|pleasure|fun|excitement} {here|right here}!

Leave a Reply

